TTR Claim All Three SCOPS Titles in 2017!

TTR Claim all three V8SCOPS titles!

Sunday saw the finale for the 2017 V8 Supercar Online Premier Series with a 39 lap Elkhart Lake 250 at Road America. Stephen “Sandman” Clarke in his final race before taking leave from full time V8 Supercar racing, started the second split event from 2nd place, he would unfortunately end up in an accident and finish 30th, 14 laps down. This wasn’t the way Sandman wanted to end the season, but from all of us at TTR, you’ve done us proud this year Sandman! We hope to see Sandman behind the wheel of a TTR Supercar once again in next years endurocup.

In the EMR Industries Porsche Supercup, Josh Muggleton and Michael Healey did nothing short of dominate, finishing with a sensational 1st and 3rd respectively to end the season. This also was enough for Michael Healey to seal the championship for 2017.

Entering the final race of the year, Jarrad Filsell needed to finish 36th or better to guarantee himself the 2017 Drivers Title, and Madison Down and Jake Burton needed 46 points between them to claim the Teams Championship. These were both easily achievable targets, but the race was far from easy. Madison and Jarrad locked out the front row in Qualifying, to set the scene for an epic race.

Filsell battled TTLs Josh Rogers for the lead of the race, while Madison Down trailed a couple of seconds behind. Jake Burton was battling hard with ERTs Ethan Grigg Gault, both of them with history of battles at Road America. Sam Blacklock was driving a sensational race, managing to trail Burton in the early laps before falling slightly whilst battling Dayne Warren and Luke Harvey. Kurt Stenberg and Emily Jones were both lucky to still be running after some first lap chaos, and Stenny settled in just outside the Top 10, with an emotional Jones showing true depth of character to push on despite everything seemingly against her.

The race really turned it on with a safety car with 5 to go. This condensed the field and lead itself to a huge amount of unpredictability. Filsell showed why he was the champion this year, gapping the field and taking his 10th victory of 2017, and his second championship. Down, Burton and Blacklock were in a huge battle pack that came down to the last lap, where Burton was lucky enough to come away with 3rd. However a big incident involving Down and Blacklock left Madison in 17th, still resulting in a fantastic 2nd place in the championship. Blacklock finished a personal best 4th in a 250km race. Emily Jones and Kurt Stenberg were once again caught in carnage they weren’t responsible for, bringing it home 23rd and 25th respectively. This wasn’t the result either of them were looking for, but they both have performed well this year and will undoubtedly hit the ground running in 2018.

We must also give a huge shout out to Wayne Tolley on his finish in 30th, it was Wayne’s first V8SCOPS race start, and his first V8 Supercar start for many years. We hope to see Wayne back on the track in 2018!

Trans Tasman Racing
2017 Drivers Champion – Jarrad Filsell
2017 Drivers Championship 2nd – Madison Down
2017 Drivers Championship 5th – Jake Burton
2017 EMR Supercup Drivers Champion – Michael Healey
2017 Teams Champions – Madison Down and Jake Burton – Fuel Autotek TTR
2017 Drivers Championship 8th – Sam Blacklock
2017 Drivers Championship 12th – Kurt Stenberg
2017 Drivers Championship 19th – Emily Jones
2017 Drivers Championship 23rd – Stephen Clarke
2017 Drivers Championship 24th – Leigh Ellis

We have had a fantastic season, and these results are a testament to not only our Drivers fantastic performances, but the tireless work of our team engineer, Brock Salmon, Livery designer, Andrew Osier of Kurse Designs Lab, and our fantastic sponsors – FUEL AUTOTEK, Harrop Engineering, Hybrid Racing Simulations MOMO Australia, Apex Replicas.

We are looking forward to 2018! Watch this space for some big news over the coming days!